City of Soldotna, Alaska on the Kenai Peninsula

In the very heart of the beautiful Kenai Peninsula!

P&Z Commissioners

Top: Pete Sprague, Linda Murphy, Keith Baxter, Paul Whitney

Bottom: Regina Daniels, Mayor Nels Anderson, Meggean Bos

We hope you, residents & visitors alike, will find our online presence useful and informative.

The City of Soldotna is a first class city operating under a “Manager” plan of government as provided in AS 29.20.460.  Most of our powers are described in Title 29 of the Alaska Statutes.  The City Manager is the Chief Administrative Officer, executing the laws and ordinances, and administering the government of the City in accordance with directions and policies established by the City Council. The City Manager is appointed by a majority vote of the entire City Council.

The office of Mayor is an elected position who serves as the ceremonial head of government, executing official City documents on authorization of the governing body.  The Mayor presides over City Council meetings, may take part in discussion of a matter before the governing body, may vote in the case of a tie, and has limited veto power.  The Mayor appoints members to City Boards and Commissions, which are then confirmed by the City Council. The Mayor is elected at large and serves a term of three years.

The Soldotna City Council is the legislative body of the City of Soldotna, and is comprised of six members, all of whom are elected at large to designated seats. A council member's term is three years.

The City Council enacts the laws of the city, sets the mill rate for property taxes within the city, approves the annual budget for the city, and appropriates funds to provide for city services. Through ordinances, resolutions and budget adoption, the council establishes policies and directives which are then executed through administration. 

Send an email to Mayor and all Council Members.

Mayor Seat Phone Term Ends
Nels Anderson Mayor 252-3899 2017
Council Members      
Paul Whitney A 262-5667 2015
Meggean Bos B 953-6869 2017
Linda Murphy C 262-1686 2015
Regina Daniels D 262-5106 2016
Keith Baxter E 398-7287 2016
Pete Sprague F 262-4073 2017

City of Soldotna, Alaska

City Council Meetings:
2nd and 4th Wednesday of each month 6:00 p.m. in the City Council Chamber

City Hall:
177 North Birch St.
Soldotna, AK 99669

Phone: 907-262-9107
Fax: 907-262-4389
  Disclaimer Copyright © 1997-2010 City of Soldotna. All rights reserved. Information in this document and pages at this site are subject to change without notice. Other products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders.
Site design Arctic Web Publications